Running in the Heat

First and foremost, I am not an expert or claim to have all the knowledge when it comes to running in the heat.  I struggle in the heat, but I have found a few things can help me along the way to help beat the heat.

  • Start off slow.  This is a tough one for me to grasp.  I can run this speed in the spring, fall, why do I feel so terrible when I try to run the same pace in the summer?  A few years ago, I moved to Florida for an internship.  I was already signed up for a winter marathon, which meant I had a lot of training to do in the hot Florida heat.  My pace during those training runs were 2-3 minutes/mile slower than what I was accustom to training in Michigan.  After 3 months of training in those conditions, I went home to Michigan to run a 10 mile race and ran faster than I had ever before.  Running in the heat paid off even though I had to slow down.
  • Stay Hydrated!  Staying hydrated is one of the most important parts of successful summer running.  I personally try to drink 3-4 water bottles full of water per day.  At least one of those will be an electrolyte beverage.  Everyone has their favorite one.  I enjoy Nuun and Propel.  It helps me drink more throughout the day and replaces those electrolytes I loose when I sweat!
  • Avoid running at the warmer parts of the day  I am a much more productive person in the morning than I am in the evening.  So, I prefer to get my exercise in the morning.  It makes me feel accomplished throughout the day and if something comes up later in the evening, I would have already accomplished what I wanted to do in the morning.  But, sometimes it doesn’t work out.  Sometimes I have a crazy day and the only time I can run is at 2pm.  I usually try to get the work done on a treadmill or choose a different form of exercise.  It’s so much cooler in the morning or the evening.
  • Heat affects your heart/heart rate  Your body will eventually acclimate to hot weather, so gradually increasing the length and intensity of your training in the warm weather will help beat the heat. I about two weeks time, your body will learn to decrease your heart rate, decrease your core body temperature, and increase your sweat rate.
  • Pick out routes with shade, sprinklers:  I love picking out routes with shade, sprinklers, grass, etc.  I’m actually waiting for the day someone yells at me for running through their sprinklers in the yard.  It’s so refreshing and cooling during those tough summertime runs to cool off with a bit of water.  Trail running can be a BLAST!  The concrete can make your warm run even warmer.  Again, early morning or late evening would be the best way to beat the heat.
  • Choose the correct running attire:  I try to wear as little as possible.  And I try to keep things loose against my skin.  Allow it to be flowy and breathing.  It’s what works for me.   The lighter the colors the cooler they are (generally).  I believe wearing a hat/visor with a dark under bill has been researched to keep you cooler than not having a hat.  It seems to keep me cooler than when I don’t have one.
  • Protect your skin:  Sunscreen, Sunscreen, Sunscreen.  We are trying to avoid dehydration.  Protect your skin for those rays.  Even in the morning or evening.
  • If it’s too warm, seek alternative –  Run on the treadmill, jump on a bike (with a helmet, please!), rollerblade, go for a walk.  Heat related Illness are very serious and no run is worth risking running when the heat index is so high!

Speaking of Heat-Related Illnesses.  Here’s are three common heat- related illnesses and how to protect against them.

How to Prevent Heat-Related Illnesses (via Runner’s World Article)

Heat Cramps
Cause: Dehydration leads to an electrolyte imbalance
Symptoms: Severe abdominal or large-muscle cramps
Treatment: Restore salt balance with foods or drinks that contain sodium
Prevention: Don’t run hard in the heat till acclimatized, and stay well hydrated with sports drink

Heat Fainting
Cause: Often brought on by a sudden stop that interrupts bloodflow from the legs to the brain
Symptoms: Fainting
Treatment: After the fall, elevate legs and pelvis to help restore bloodflow to the brain
Prevention: Cool down gradually after a workout with at least five minutes of easy jogging and walking

Heat Exhaustion
Cause: Dehydration leads to an electrolyte imbalance
Symptoms: Core body temperature of 102° to 104°F, headache, fatigue, profuse sweating, nausea, clammy skin
Treatment: Rest and apply a cold pack on head/neck; also restore salt balance with foods and drinks with sodium
Prevention: Don’t run hard in the heat till acclimatized, and stay well hydrated with sports drink

Overall, I truly believe running in the summertime makes me a much stronger runner.  It is tough to run when it’s warm, but you will come out ahead.  Just stay hydrated, run when it is cooler, and listen to your body.  You will truly see results when our temperatures get cooler in the fall.  That’s my favorite time to run ❤

Keep moving!

Molly

Leave a comment